My Story

Disclaimer: I am not a medical professional and the medications, dosages, and treatments described here are not meant for any readers to use as their own diagnoses and dosages. I have deliberately been vague about actual medications and some of their dosages to prevent this. They are described here purely for the purposes of showing fellow anxiety sufferers that there is help for them out there and that there is hope for them. Please seek professional medical help if you need it.

Hello! I have insomnia and I want to share a bit about what’s that like and the treatment process. Why? Well, when my insomnia was at its worst I would often look online for reassuring posts from fellow sufferers and would instead come across forums filled with post after post about what sleeping pills the poster was on and what, if any, side effects were experienced. It was either that or pointless posts on self-help website.

When I was at my worst with insomnia what I needed was reassurance that things would be okay, that it is possible to get treatment and start to, slowly but surely, come out the other end.

My advice? See a professional! Seriously, they know more than people on an insomnia forum ever could. A professional will work with you, figure out what’s going on with you, run tests, and try out different treatments to help you get better.

Seeing a professional is expensive, believe me I know, and I put it off for a long time but, after advice from a therapist, I eventually realised that dipping into my savings would be worth it in the short term than continuing to pay for expensive sleeping pills (and medication to counteract the side effects) in the long term.

I’m not better, sleeping is still a struggle but I try and take it one day at a time rather than worrying about how all the upcoming changes in my life will affect my progress. I’ve got a long way to go yet but I hope that sharing my progress can help someone else and make you, or them, feel a little bit better and hopeful and less judged for needing help.

 

Leave a Reply

